TECS Auditor Training
December 2018
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
Contact Us8883579001
Quick Connect
E-learning Testimonials ISO 9001:2015 Certified
Eliminate redundant training
with TPECS
Why have to re-take, and re-test previously mastered skills when pursuing additional auditing certifications? TPECS-certified courses count previous modules toward your next certification, saving time, money and eliminating pointless repetition.

Why TPECS modular quality training makes so much sense

The Training Provider & Examiner Certification Scheme (TPECS) is a highly practical approach to quality management training that gives students credit for basic competencies (known as Global Competency Units) they have already completed. This allows them to earn certifications that are either more advanced (for example, progressing to lead auditor after completing internal auditor requirements), or comparable levels across other standards (for example, first gaining ISO 9001 lead auditor certification, then ISO 14001 lead auditor certification). This reduces the need for review, re-learning and re-testing previously mastered skills and material.

Inside the TPECS training machine

Created by Exemplar Global, and certified through JAS-ANZ, QMII’s TPECS auditor-track training is a competency-based certification which requires:

A TPECS Example

Goal: Attain Two Lead Auditor Certifications

1 Complete 1-day Management Systems Auditing

2 Complete
2-day Leading Mgmt. Systems Audit Teams

3 Complete 2-day ISO 9001 Quality Management Systems

ISO 9001 Lead Auditor Certification Achieved

4 Complete 2-day ISO 14001 Environmental Mgmt. Systems

ISO 14001 Lead Auditor Certification Achieved

Total Time = 7 Days
  • Knowledge (from the class)
  • Skills (witnessed by an EXEMPLAR GLOBAL skills examiner)
  • Personal Attributes(via the PAAS, Personal Attributes Assessment System master)
  • Qualifications (for an industry)
  • But no audit logs are required (to verify audit experience)

Once the class requirements and testing are completed, and the particular competency (i.e. internal auditor, lead auditor, etc.) is attained, auditors maintain competency-based certification (TPECS) by:

  • Providing evidence of skills competence (by EXEMPLAR GLOBAL skills examiner)
  • Demonstrating personal attributes competence (by PAAS Master)
  • Confirming no breach of code of conduct (all open issues resolved)
  • Reapplying every four years

A foundational approach

No matter what quality management auditing position is being pursued (for instance, from being audit team members to those conducting or managing all types of audits including internal and third party), all candidates will start on their TPECS path by completing this foundational competency module:.

AU - Management Systems Auditing

When coupled with a standards-based competency module (see below), this provides sufficient Global Competency Units to earn the equivalent of an Internal Auditor certificate* in any of the standards competencies that have been satisfactorily completed. This foundational module need never be re-taken.

For those seeking lead auditor certification, QMII includes course work and exams for this advanced competency:

TL - Leading Management Systems Audit Teams

When coupled with a standards-based competency module (see below), this provides sufficient Global Competency Units to earn the equivalent of a Lead Auditor certificate* in any of the standards competencies that have been satisfactorily completed. Again, this foundational module need never be re-taken.

*Students that successfully complete a course, will receive a Certificate of Attainment for each Exemplar Global Competency Unit completed.

Standards competencies available via the QMII TPECS pathway

Specific exams for a particular ISO standard competency are provided for attaining either internal or lead auditor tracks, depending on the standard(s) students are learning in the training, including.

  • ISO 9001   QM = Quality Management Systems
  • ISO 14001  EM = Environmental Management Systems
  • ISO 27001  IS = Information Security Management Systems
  • ISO 28000  SCY = Security Management Systems for the Supply Chain
  • BS OHSAS  18001  Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems
  • ISO 13485  MD = Medical Devices Management Systems

A further breakdown of the above standards and certificates is available here.

The extreme benefits of TPECS

TPECS is revolutionary because it not only allows students to streamline their learning process, it also provides a tremendous amount of overall value including:

  • More flexibility in which certifications are pursued during a career, resulting in continual advancement and professional value enhancement, particularly for those who serve different industries with different related standards
  • Less time to complete higher level and/or initial certifications, typically shortening a five day course to four days or less
  • Less time for additional certifications, for example only two days to attain lead auditor status in a different standard, once the first is completed
  • Reduced travel time and costs
  • Online examinations for retesting and re-qualification
  • Never repeating a previous module/competency unit
  • Choosing your own timeframe to complete, by taking fewer or more of the modules at once